Essex Golf Union

BOYCE HILL - Keating Trophy - 8 April 2017 THORPE HALL - Sir Michael Bonnallack Trophy & Colts Championship - 19 May 2017 THE WARREN - Faldo Wedge - 31 May 2017 STOKE BY NAYLAND - Essex Amateur Championship - 3 & 4 June 2017 CHELMSFORD - Seniors Championship - 22 & 23 June 2017 WEST ESSEX - Herbert Bishop Vase - 29 June 2017 WARLEY PARK - The Cliffords Trophy - 20 July 2017 LANGDON HILLS - Essex Boys Championship 2 August 2017 GOSFIELD LAKE - Boys Foursomes Championship - 9 August 2017 ROMFORD - The Romford Trophy - 1 September 2017 UPMINSTER - The Upminster Trophies - 9 September 2017 BRAINTREE - The Essex Foursomes Championship - 24 September 2017


​Played at Romford Golf Club on Friday 2 September 2016

From Left to Right
Jesper Laurence (Stock Brook Manor) Nett Winner
Jay Beisser (The Rayleigh Club) Winner
Brandon Meads (Chelmsford) Runner Up

It was an overcast but dry start to the September morning, as 66 players set out to play the well-presented Romford course.

Leading after the morning round were four players all on level par 71. These included Mitchel Sarling (Boyce Hill), Jay Beisser (The Rayleigh Club), William Percival (Orsett) and Jesper Laurence (Stock Brook Manor), Essex's Under 14 Champion.

The quartet were closely followed by the 2016 Order Of Merit leader George Leversuch (Wanstead), Lukas Warren (Thorndon Park) and Alexander Bradley (Chelmsford) who all finished their morning rounds with rounds of 72 (+1). A tight leaderboard in the morning proved to create an exciting afternoons golf with a number of competitors in contention for this years title.

Not only was the Romford Trophy being played for, but the Order Of Merit was possibly going to be decided with George Leversuch (Wanstead) and Jay Beisser (The Rayleigh Club) just 4 points apart. Closely followed by Joshua Cardy (Channels), Jack Dyer (Rochford Hundred) and William Percival (Orsett). Jack Dyer was the only player in the top five of the Order Of Merit that was not competing at Romford, so this pretty much has ruled him out of contention, but the competition remains tight for the other four in this, the penultimate OOM event of this years calendar.

Brandon Meads (Chelmsford) started strong in the afternoon, making 4 birdies in his opening 6 holes, his opening score of 73 meant he could have been 2 under for the day, but due to a double bogey on the 4th, it meant he was on level par with the back nine to go. An eagle on the 11th saw Brandon go to -2 for the tournament with just 6 holes left. His finish wasn't as strong, making three bogeys on holes 13,15 &17. This meant his round of 70 (-1) saw Brandon take the clubhouse lead on 143 (+1).

Meanwhile Mitchel Sarling (Boyce Hill), started with a birdie, however despite making three more birdies in his round of 72 (+1),  a couple of double bogeys and a bogey on the 17th were to blame and prevented Mitchel taking the overall lead in the clubhouse. 

Jay Beisser (The Rayleigh Club) started smoothly making a birdie two on the par 3 6th, only to bogey the following hole to go back to level for the day. His back nine was faultless, not dropping another shot, in fact making 3 birdies, on holes 11,15 & 16. This meant Jay closed with an impressive 68, the best score of the day and finishing four shots clear of Brandon's 143 on 139 (-3) for the tournament.

This proved good enough to win the Romford Trophy. It also means that the Order Of Merit is going to the wire as George Leversuch finished consistently, shooting a pair of 72's to finish in a very respectable 5th position.

The Nett competition was won by Jesper Laurence (Stock Brook Manor). Jesper's afternoon round of 73 was just two over par and two better than his morning round of 71. Jesper's handicap of 5 meant that he carded a nett 134 for the day, which was -8 for and 9 shots clear of Alex McGown (Boyce Hill) who had to settle for runner up on countback from Jay Beisser (The Rayleigh Club) & Ernest Grosvenor (Maylands) who also both finished with a nett 141. 

The 2016 OOM will now be settled at Upminster on the 10th September which is the final event of the season that awards Order Of Merit points. Congratulations to Jay on a solid performance.

From Left to Right
Barry Probert (Romford Golf Club Captain)
Jay Beisser (The Rayleigh Club)
Mike Hart (EGU President)

From Left to Right 
Barry Probert (Romford Golf Club Captain)
Jesper Laurence (Stock Brook Manor)
Mike Hart (EGU President)​

Our thanks, as always to Romford Golf Club for hosting the event and their hospitality.

Winner 2016
Jay Beisser (The Rayleigh Club)



Created by intelligentgolf version 8.0.6
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.