COACHING IS CANCELLED UNTIL 15TH MAY 2020

THIS WILL BE REVIEWED

Essex County Coaching 2020 Dates  

U16 TS1 (Group A)
                                           Sun 8th March - Includes Regional
Sat 14th March
Sun 19th April
                                           Sun 3rd May - Includes Regional
Sat 11th July
Sun 6th Sept

   U16 TS1 (Group B)
Sat 29th Feb
                                             Sun 8th March - Includes Regional
Sat 18th April
                                           Sun 3rd May - Includes Regional
Sun 28th June
Sat 5th Sept

U14 & U16 TS2 
Sat 21st March
Sun 17th May
Sat 20th June
Sun 19th July

U14 TS1
Sat 7th March
Sat 2nd May
Sat 16th May
Sun 14th June
Sun 13th Sept


​​ What do we do for our young golfers?

Develop participation and performance across  the complete age group range with a specific  focus on

  • Providing appropriate competitive opportunities
  • Developing golfing skills through to a national  level of performance
  • Growing understanding and respect for the game
  • Facilitating a sense of individual and shared  achievement from representing successful Essex  teams

Our County Coaching programme is designed to reflect the phases of a child's socialisation into the sport of golf. Each phase has distinct coaching and participation goals, as outlined below.

U12 – Participation
Engagement in a fun and exciting activity

  • Enjoy an appropriate mix of competition and coaching
  • Become engaged by golf, but as part of a wider  sports experience
  • Learn basic golfing skills, how to set goals and  measure progress
  • Begin the transition to the more performance  focused U13 to U16 groups

U12 – U16 – Development
Learning the skills to achieve success

  • Prepare tactically and intelligently
  • Possess exceptional short game skills
  • Learn how to manage emotions
  • Experience increased autonomy and responsibilityover own development
  • Be supported in the transition from specialising to  high quality investment

U18 – Performance
Delivering a performance when it counts

  • Commit to attaining an elite level of performance in  golf
  • Be motivated by achieving excellence
  • Understand how to manage a high intensity of  training and competition
  • Be able to deal with setbacks, fatigue, injury and  time pressures
  • Have in place a strong personal support network of  coaches, S & C, and of course parents!

Text Box: Leaderboard Photography

If you are interested in supporting Essex golf and would like to discuss how a partnership can benefit both parties please contact County Secretary Nick McEvoy on 01376 500998 or office@essexgolfunion.org .